top of page
Search
  • Cross-Cultural Studies

Voices in the Air

The following are a selection of poems written by Adrian College student, Donald Moses, in response to the police killing of George Floyd. #blacklivesmatter


Voices

I live in fear

Not because I’m scared of death

But because I’m scared to see someone else that looks

like me dead

I live in anger

Not because people are burning buildings

But because a mother has to watch her son get buried

I live in sadness

Not because I’m sad of what people have to say

But because people would rather say all lives matter

in spite of our race getting stomped on

The voices have been whispering for years now

A man took a knee, the country rejected him

The whispers turned into talking

Another boy got shot

The voices turned into shouts

2 more men got killed

The shouts turn into screaming

Sit back and watch the movie you created and pray it

ends good

Let’s look for a change

Or else the voices will get louder

Air

It hurts to watch

Even worse when he doesn’t stop

We watch it over and over

The reality comes in closer and closer

Another death of a black male

He laid there for 8 minutes and all he could do is wail

People walked by and didn’t even help

The other cops by him stood there and said “welp”

The knee so deep in his neck

To the cop his life meant nothing but a tiny spec

As a grown man cried and begged for his life

All people could do is sit back and record it for the hype

As I sat and watched the video I thought, “that could’ve

been me

Struggling on the ground, a knee on my neck not being

able to breath

It’s hard to imagine someone with so much power could

do these things with no shame

But then I realized being black means you're forced to live

in the real life “Most dangerous game”

So you can get mad and say “All protests are wrong and it

isn’t fair”

But that man cried and pleaded on the ground for

almost nine minutes, and couldn’t even get any air.




57 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page